What is GESEA

What is GESEA?

Structured educational programme for Gynaecological Endoscopy

The Gynaecological Endoscopic Surgical Education and Assessment (GESEA) programme is a structured educational programme for Gynaecological Endoscopy. It trains and certifies knowledge and practical skills prior to surgical competence.

The GESEA programme follows the European–American Joint Recommendation stating that each hospital teaching endoscopic surgery should make available an endoscopic dry lab for training and improving the proficiency of the endoscopic surgery skills of the physician.

The GESEA Educational Programme offers a complete approach to endoscopic education. It spans over three distinct levels offering learning modules for all levels of proficiency.

Through its three pathways, it teaches and assesses the knowledge, skills and surgical skills needed for minimal invasive gynaecological surgeon, reproductive endoscopic surgeons and gynaecological robotics surgeons.

Knowledge is trained through
e-learning materials available on ESGE Academy. The acquisition of knowledge is assessed through online quizzes.

A series of well defined exercises on laparoscopy, laparoscopic suturing, hysteroscopy and robotics train the psychomotor skills of GESEA participants.

Surgical competence is measured through assessment of standardised procedures by expert review.

GESEA Pathways

MIGS, Robotics e ECRES

The GESEA Educational Programme currently provides three distinct pathways, offering educational content in various skills and specialities.


Become a Minimal Invasive Gynaecological Surgeon

GESEA Robotics

Become a Gynaecological Robotics Surgeon


Become a Reproductive Endoscopic Surgeon

GESEA Levels

From Level 1 to 3

The GESEA Educational Programme is structured in three proficiency levels which progressively build on each other. One must fulfil the criteria for each level before gaining access and progressing to the next level.

The first level of the GESEA Educational Programme is fully focused on providing doctors the necessary knowledge and skills to start their training in the operating room. It offers a pathway of acquiring the GESEA Level 1 certificate. The Level 1 Certificate is the same for each of the three pathways.

The second level of the GESEA Educational Programme prepares doctors for basic endoscopic procedures in the operating room. The three pathways have both shared and pathway-specific learning modules, with seperate certifications and diplomas.

The third level of the GESEA Educational Programme is the expert level and is currently under development. It will focus on sub-specialities such as oncology, difficult endometriosis surgery, advanced reproductive surgery as well as expert-level hysteroscopy.